California teen motorcycling law goes into effect Jan. 1
December 28, 2010
Filed under Features
A new law heightening the requirements to earn a motorcycle license for teens and young adults in California takes effect Jan. 1.
Beginning in 2011, riders under the age of 21 will have to attend a 15-hour motorcycle skills and safety course before hitting the streets, according to a report from The Sacramento Bee. Currently, teens 15½ and older can ride a motorcycle after taking only a written exam.
Under the new law, once a teen has passed the $150 course, the rider earns a learner’s permit. With the permit, the cyclist can ride on streets but not freeways, cannot ride at night and cannot carry passengers. After six months, the teen receives a motorcycle license. Those under age 18 with a license are still given restrictions, however, including no riding between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. and no passengers until the rider reaches age 20.
The course is administered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation and authorized by the California Highway Patrol.
- For more of the latest news, click here.
- To see the contents of the current print issue of PSB, click here.